Two prizes of $1,000.00 each and publication in The Chattahoochee Review are awarded to a winning story and essay in the annual Lamar York Prizes for Fiction and Nonfiction, which honor the founder and former editor of The Chattahoochee Review.

  • Submit stories and essays of up to 5,000 words, double-spaced.

  • Entries must be submitted via Submittable under the prize categories in Fiction and Nonfiction between October 1 and January 31. All entries will be considered for publication.

  • Submissions are judged anonymously. Please remove identifying information from the submission file itself. We would greatly appreciate a note letting us know how you heard about the contest in your cover letter.

  • Simultaneous submissions are discouraged but permissible, though we ask to be notified immediately upon acceptance elsewhere (

  • An entry fee of $15 (nonrefundable) includes a one-year subscription to The Chattahoochee Review beginning with the Spring issue. Each additional entry requires a separate fee but may include a gift subscription; please make a note with payment.

  • No theoretical, scholarly, or critical essays will be considered, but all other approaches and topics are welcome. Only unpublished essays and stories will be considered.

  • Winners will be announced on TCR’s website in March and published in the Spring issue.

  • TCR supports the Council of Literary Magazines and Presses Contest Code of Ethics. The editors will select the finalists. The Editor and an outside judge in each category will select the winner. Faculty of GPC, former students of the editors, and close friends or associates should refrain from submitting.

Council of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP) Contest Code of Ethics:

“CLMP’s community of independent literary publishers believes that ethical contests serve our shared goal: to connect writers and readers by publishing exceptional writing. We believe that intent to act ethically, clarity of guidelines, and transparency of process form the foundation of an ethical contest. To that end, we agree to (1) conduct our contests as ethically as possible and to address any unethical behavior on the part of our readers, judges, or editors; (2) to provide clear and specific contest guidelines defining conflict of interest for all parties involved; and (3) to make the mechanics of our selection process available to the public. This Code recognizes that different contest models produce different results, but that each model can be run ethically. We have adopted this Code to reinforce our integrity and dedication as a publishing community and to ensure that our contests contribute to a vibrant literary heritage.” 

Congratulations to our 2014 Lamar York Prize Winners: Alexander Weinstein for his story “The Cartographers,” and Jeremy Collins for his essay “Basic Composition.” Please visit our news and events blog, The Hooch, for a list of finalists. Warmest regards to all who entered!


The Townsend Prize for Fiction is awarded biennially to the Georgia writer judged to have published the best book-length work of fiction in the previous two years. The prize was founded in 1980 in honor of founding editor of Atlanta Magazine Jim Townsend. Past recipients include Celestine Sibley, Alice Walker, Terry Kay, and Ha Jin.

Books are brought to our attention through communication from publishers, agents, and in some cases authors themselves. The final nominees are then selected by The Chattahoochee Review and the Georgia Center for the Book. Determination of the winner is carried out by anonymous, independent judges and announced at an awards ceremony.

The last Townsend Prize for Fiction was awarded on April 24, 2014, at the Atlanta Botanical Garden, and Jesmyn Ward gave the keynote address. Anthony C. Winkler received the Prize for God Carlos.